Honoring Those Who Serve the Community

Attend the annual Omaha Police Foundation Officer of the Year Awards Luncheon. Since 1999, the Foundation has sponsored and hosted the Omaha Police Department’s annual Officer of the Year Awards Luncheon to recognize and encourage acts of heroism.

The 18th Annual “Omaha Police Officer of the Year” Awards Luncheon will be held April 25 of 2018 at the Scott Conference Center, 6450 Pine Street, Omaha. Please check back for 2018 details and to purchase tickets.

Questions may be directed to Omaha Police Foundation Administrator, Elizabeth Balazs at (402) 345-5401 extension #102 or

2016 Officer of the Year

Robbie Goering-JensenBurglary and Gang Units, were recognized for their outstanding work in the prior year. Medal of Valor recipient Officer Robbie Goering-Jensen was selected from among the honorees as the 2016 Officer of the Year.

In December of 2015, Goering-Jensen and Officer Anthony Abboud reported a house fire while on a call and then responded to assist. Upon arrival, Goering-Jensen was advised that several people were still inside the home. He entered the burning house three times until everyone was rescued. For his actions in saving three lives that day, Goering-Jensen was awarded the Lifesaving Medal and the Medal of Valor. For his heroic efforts at great personal risk to himself, he was also honored as the 2016 Officer of the Year.



2015 Officer of the Year – Detective Kerrie Orozco

2014 Officer of the Year – Sophia Jordan